#475: Whatever Happened To Baby Jane

In this 26th day of The Five Hundred Movie/Film Challenge, I’ve decided to skip from #491 to #475 which actually is where I’m at in the said challenge. I will try to publish #491 to #476 though after I finish my thoughts on #475.

I don’t know why I’m explaining but I just feel like I owe you, yes you, whoever you are who happens to read this. And I owe this slight change to my fellow challengers.

Anyway, today is a rather gloomy day. I woke up late and finished some of my laundry and went ahead to catch up with my movies.

March 6, 2011


Directed by Robert Aldrich

Based on the novel by Henry Farrel

Cinematography by Lukas Heller

This suspense-psychological thriller is based on novel with the same name written by Henry Farrel which stars of Hollywood’s two greatest actresses of all time, Betty Davis(The Man Who Played God)Β and Joan Crawford (Mildred Pierce) and Victor Buono’s breakthrough film.Β  The movie opens in 1917 wherein Baby Jane Hudson performs on stage along with her father (played by Dave Willock) who plays the piano and wrote all the songs Baby Jane sings. Like most child stars, Jane is a spoiled brat who gets everything that she wants with the help ofher doting father and by bullying her sister, Blanche. The movie jumps to 1935 and both sisters are actresses. Only this time, Blanche is all the more popular and glamorous while Jane ends up closing her career as a drunkard brat.

One night after a party, the movie shows one woman at the front of a gate, the other woman at the car, revving up the engine and speeding towards the gate. I assumed that the other woman at the car must’ve planned on killing the other who was at the gate.

At present time, Blanche (Crawford) and Jane (Davis)Β are now aged and are both living alone in their Hollywood mansion. Blanche is now crippled from the automobile accident and is usually stuck in her bedroom. Jane on the other hand abuses the fact that Blanche can only depend on her due to her disability.

The funny thing is that Baby Jane or Jane Hudson seriously reminds me of how I think of child stars.. today: spoiled, viciously cruel, and very schizophrenic.

Anyway, my favorite parts of this movie was that part wherein Betty Davis had to pretend she was Blanche to call out on the doctor and tell them that Blanche (I mean she) was just having a fit and that there Jane wasn’t really crazy at all.

In the end, they reveal the real story as to what really happened to these two sisters during the automobile accident and one of them dies due to hunger and dehydration and one dances around a crowd of people thinking that they were there to watch her twirl while carrying an ice cream for her and her dying sister.

Leave a Reply

