April 24th

 

I’ve had a great weekend so far. I’m no catholic but since I live in a catholic country, most shops are closed during the lent. Hence, I was able to watch a couple of movies from Friday the 22nd till Saturday 23rd.

#443: The Ghosts of Girlfriends Past (22 April 2011)

Was never a fan of Matthew McCaugnahey, but I am a fan of Emma Stone and Jennifer Garner. All the while I kept thinking, and calculating how old the guy who played Matthew’s kind-of brother really is in real life. As I could remember, he was also in Clueless and a number of other 90s movies. He never changed in appearance. I couldn’t even tell if he looked older or younger. It’s weird.

Anyway, I have never seen this movie in full up until tonight via HBO. It’s about a bachelor who takes a trip to the past to visit every girl he’s been to bed with, from the shortest hook up to the longest which only took him a day. Until he realizes that the only girl/woman he’s ever loved is about to get married. It’s basically the same old love story. Nothing really special about this flick… although I must say the part that made me stand up from the couch and get a glass of warm milk was the part wherein the three tiered cake crumbled down to pieces. Again, I was never impressed by Matthew’s abs.

#442: The Green Hornet (22 April 2011)

Directed by Michel Gondry, the same guy who directed The Eternal Sunshine of The Spotless Mind and The Science of Sleep, starring Seth Rogen, Jay Chou, Cameron Diaz, Tom Wilkinson (also from Eternal Sunshine..), and Christoph Waltz who reprises his role as a bad guy who doesn’t look like he’s got the confidence of it.

This film remake of the 1960s classic and comic stands firmly as a good reference for comparison in case someone else in the future might think of doing yet another remake for this film. It’s a good thing they hired Gondry and his team of cartoon and CGI geniuses to do the editing and visual effects for most of the fight scenes. And it’s also a good thing they found Jay Chou to play Kato, the nameless sidekick who gave justice in being a modern day Kato (of course, nobody can be compared to Bruce Lee. I mean it. Nobody). It’s also a good thing they found Seth Rogen to play the nonsense Green Hornet. Although I’m not sure if the Green Hornet in the show was the same as the one portrayed in this flick or if they just changed it differently for perspective purposes. I would like to comment to the many reviews I’ve read about Rogen and Diaz’ chemistry. First of all, there was never that much chemistry to begin with. Second, why haven’t they noticed that she was more involved into Kato than towards Britt?

To be honest though, I thought Rogen would be a bit of a badass, superhero kind of thing. But not too bad though, I guess his style is really towards the sloppy type. I am not surprised to find Jay Chou to be such a cutie.

All in all, I give this movie a 3.0/5 (5 being the highest).

2 thoughts on “TFMC # 443 and 442

  1. Christoph Waltz who reprises his role as a bad guy who doesn’t look like he’s got the confidence of it.

    but why?? gotta know.

Leave a Reply

