Here’s a blogpost that has been waiting for me to press the ‘publish’ button for over two years. I got bored, too, so I browsed through my drafts and tadaaa… here it is.

 

I got bored so I browsed through my drafts.

My drafts are a mix of confusing grammar, unerring thoughts, stammered opinions, and just things that I was thankful I hadn’t automatically hit the Publish button.

If you happened to have stumbled upon this blog before, then you surely you must’ve noticed that I mainly blog about films. But before I was even open to writing about my film experiences (either as a whole or as a piece of crap that I still wished I never said..), I was among those silly little girls who sat around the corner thinking of how to end the world of the bitches.

Not entirely. But something like that.

But I am a little silly girl. I was. I’m not sure if I still am. But stumbling upon this post that I had a year ago. Last edited was on August 6, 2010. Β I was writing twenty things I would do for the next twelve months. Like a resolution.

I just turned twenty last week. Yay!

A total of 104 friends greeted me through Facebook while ten people stayed up in the wee hours of the morning to greet me on or before midnight (which I of course was able to read in the morning..). Thanks a lot guys!

Now that I’m no longer a teen, here are a couple of things I’d like to achieve while I’m still in my “twenties”:

Meet Robert Pattinson in the flesh, and write the movie he’s staring in.

So what if you’re not into him like I do, at least I’m not trying to meet him and drool all over his face. Plus, I want him to portray something he’s never portrayed before: Jose Rizal, our national hero. Just kidding! Well, I have thought about what character/job I can give him but that’s something I can’t tell you yet.

Eat 50 eggs in one sitting.

Like the one Paul Newman did in Cool Hand Luke. Okay. Just two. One on breakfast, one on the evening.

Learn two more languages.

Sugoi!.. And continue with the french lessons.πŸ™‚

Run in a full marathon.

Boost up on the endurance!πŸ™‚

Submit your draft to Dorrance Publishing.

Right. It’ll be done in two more months.. two more months, I promise!

Visit a relative you never knew you had.

Thanks, Facebook for making it possible to know that I have cousins who look a lot like my father, and for cousins who live just in North Avenue.

Save up for your future “child”.

Although at the moment this will not be possible, it’s best to save up something for the future just in case. Like, maybe, a lost baby ends up in your doorstep.

Keep it up with them Bangs.

I’ve had these on and off since I was four. Either as an accessory to a homemade apple-cut courtesy of my mom, or as an accident I’ve made one evening while I was hating on my forehead, I think it’s better to just stay there. On your forehead. It kind of adds the mystery.

Martha Grimes is my new Hero.

Her Richard Jury series has kept me up in the afternoon, rolling in the bed at every Old English suspense she writes. I haven’t read this way since Jasper Fforde’s Thursday Next series.

I Thought I Saw Your Face Today..

..But I just turned my head away. Sings She and Him’s Zooey Deschanel. The past is at its rightful place. Time to focus on what matters more importantly.

CINE WATCH! CINE WATCH!

Don’t limit yourself to Cable TV. There’s a lot of films out there (namely the ones in the hanging cabinet in your room filled with films, the ones in the living room, and the ones waiting to be mentioned by your Cinephile friends..)

I’ll get back to you in a few days to check if I have done something in these posts.πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Twenty

  1. Was the pie tasty? It looks like if you ate too much of it you’d get sick. The best cheesecake I’ve ever vomited up was just like that. I still think about how good it was. I ate two slices of it at my best friends birthday party in 1999.

    Happy birthday. Savor the experience of being young. Don’t worry too much about your life and where you are going. Make sure you have fun along the way.

    William James!

    1. The pie was great.πŸ™‚
      It was huge, unlike the ones sold more at our local malls here. Hehe. I’m twenty-two now and this is a post I had on my drafts for over two years. I used to have random writer’s block back then and so this was an excruciating work in progress. Thanks for reading.

      1. Unfortunately, writer’s block is something you will have to deal with for the rest of your life. The only way to combat it is to write everyday anyway regardless of whether you feel like it or not. I’ve had writer’s for about a year now. I’ve written about sixty poems most of them are crap. I do some writing ever single day.

        It is good to be able to complete stories started months ago. I congratulate you on a read well done.

Leave a Reply

