So without further adieu, here’s a quick update on my new challenge. As much as I’d want to treat all my reviews as babies for these films, I do need to make sure that this time I’d make at least a quick review/film experience on these. There are a lucky few that may need my attention (and has been hanging around my Drafts list) but may not be found fully in this list yet.

In case you’d want to challenge yourself and join, you may simply email me at underthefiretree@gmail.com.

#1. Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines (1 January)

– I’m happy I missed this for the world.. If it weren’t for sheer curiosity, I wouldn’t watch it. I may have made a quick review for this.

#2. Dr. No (2 January)

– I had to watch this, knowing that this is where James Bond first premiered. I got frustrated at Ursula Andres’ hair. But it’s a good spy film to catch. Especially if you’re into anything vintage and vintage James Bond played by the immortal Sir Sean Connery.

#3. The Legend of Zorro (3 January)

– I was entertained. You can let the whole family watch this with you as a sequel to the first, aptly titled Mask of Zorro.

#4. The Truth About Cats and Dogs (6 January)

– I’m still finishing a full review on this. I am equally enthralled to find Janeane Garofalo in a lead role, especially with charming young Ben Chaplin. I was surprised to actually continually hate Uma Thurman and then accept and love her after watching this. I’ll post the review soon. I promise.

#5. Bandidas (6 January)

– a film by Norwegian directors Joachim Rønning and Espen Sandberg, shot in a picturesque western featuring two equally beautiful and talented actors Salma Hayek and Penelope Cruz along with the ever adorable Steve Zahn as their unexpected leading man. It’s a great comedy including witty antics and dialogue. Written and produced by Luc Besson.

Salma Hayek and Penelope Cruz in Bandidas

#6. Rebel Without A Cause (6 January)

– a classic film of rebellion of the American youth set in the 1950s and is one of three films James Dean has ever starred in before his tragic death in 1955. I’ll be having a full review for this.

#7. New York, I Love You (7 January)

– several short films combined to culminate their love for one of the most exciting cities in the world. A sequel of sorts to Paris, Je’ taime and is the second film in the Cities of Love franchise. 11 short films each with a different director including Natalie Portman and Mira Nair. My favorite would have to be the one about method actors, and the little stint about strangers between Chris Cooper and Robin Wright.

#8. Reality Bites (7 January)

– you may die if you were born after 1994. Or if you haven’t seen this yet, you must see it before anything else happens to you.

#9. Senna (7 January)

– this british documentary film depicts the brief life of Brazilian 3 time motor-racing champion Ayrton Senna. With breathtaking clips including during his races through the cameras on the cars he drove.

#10. Like Crazy (8 January)

– a story about a long distance relationship between an exchange student from the UK played by Felicity Jones (Hysteria) and american student Anton Yelchin. Heartbreaking and disfunctional.

#11. Tatlong Taong Walang Diyos / Three Years Without God (11 January)

– Mario O’ Hara’s epic psychological drama during the Japanese occupation. Featuring performances from Christopher de Leon, Nora Aunor, and Bembol Rocco.

#12. Giant (9 January)

– haven’t finish this. yet

#13. Rock Star (10 January)

– classic Jennifer Aniston and Mark Wahlberg where he sings his heart out and fakes a british accent. He used to do a cover band for a popular rock and roll band and when he is suddenly discovered by the band’s lead guitarist. He is catapulted into fame for successfully belting out the same old songs, almost even better than the guy he replaced. But after realizing that he’s just a cover singer and not much of his talent can be taken into by the band, he walks out and hands his microphone to a fan and never returns back.

Leave a Reply

