#352: Crazy, Stupid, Love

20 August 2011

As I’ve promised myself when I saw the [short] sneak peak of this film on HBO’s Movie review stint, I am very much happy to say that I have just seen this film.

I haven’t had enough sleep to stretch the nerves of my brain on a smart film. And lately, I have been feeling a bit depressed to either talk to myself or listen to any advise anyone can give about anything. So, I settled to watch (and pay..) for something whose plot I read at the movie board and summary I’ve seen in HBO to be just simple and charming.
Crazy, Stupid, Love is a film that I would agree to be refreshing, irrational, cute, funny, a bit witty, and would most likely be a favorite among the popular kids these days. It’s film begins with Julianne Moore and Steve Carrell as Emily and Cal Weaver sitting in restaurant deciding what to eat until one of them breaks the ice and asks for a divorce. The person whose heart had just been torn to pieces and perhaps might spend the week with his kids during weekends would have to be Steve Carrell. Soon after his wife announces she wants to split, he tries to regain himself by leaving the house at night and talk to himself at a bar. He wallows as he imagines and constantly repeats to himself that his wife had just screwed David Lindhagen, her co-worker.


Ryan Gosling’s character Jacob notices Cal and immediately becomes his life guru. He teaches Steve to get up on his Salvatorre Ferragamo shoes and date women so he can move on with his life and on his ex-wife.  Another story builds up a couple of nights before when Jacob sees Hannah (played by Emma Stone) at that same bar. He tries to play the game on her but she seems smart enough to fall for his tricks, and also since she’s in love with a co-lawyer played by Josh Groban. Since he can’t figure out why she seems so different than all the women he’s met, she becomes his impression of a dream girl.
Meanwhile, newcomer actress and former America’s Next Top Model contestant Analeigh Tipton who plays as the babysitter Jessica for the Weaver’s. Apparently, Steve and Julianne’s son is in love with her and constantly bothers her either at school or at home by constantly professing his love for her while admitting to him that she’s in love with someone older and mature.
Anyway, before I’m about to spoil you with everything, I’m gonna stop right here. What I like most about this film is that it consistently brings that fresh perspective on a romantic film. Directed by Glenn Ficara and John Requa (both responsible for I Love You Phillip Morris)and written by Dan Fogelman (responsible for Cars and Tangled). Although Steve Carell and Julianne Moore didn’t exactly seem like the perfect team up, they were alright to represent the roles they were provided with. Steve Carell’s acting makes it a lot more funnier with drama and depression mixed in his face. I should credit Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling as well for playing their characters so well that at the back of my mind I couldn’t help but get giggly with it.
I had a couple of laughs while watching this film. Mushy parts are to be expected of course. It kind of reminds me of the pinoy film Got to Believe and it feels like a mash-up as well between that film, Valentine’s Day and any John Hughes film without trying to be John Hughes. I tell you you must watch this film. And bring your parents, too.

One thought on “#352: Crazy, Stupid, Love

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.